Egg on my face

First of all congratulations are in order for singles champions Djokovic and Azarenka. Me being the socialite that I am i was unable to catch the ladies final but upon hearing the scoreline i wasn’t too upset.

The men’s however is a different story. I had a round of golf to attend to on Sunday morning and was only able to watch the 1st set which went well for me from a trading perspective. I wasn’t too miffed at having to leave as the quality wasn’t particularly high, but Nadal taking the first made it interesting. He had never lost a GS final after having won the opening set. I constantly checked the score from the course only to find it evolving into a classic, and having watched the extended highlights (i hate highlights!), I can verify that is indeed the case. Both players showcasing what a gruelling sport [men’s] tennis is and justifying their rewards. Well done to both of them.

In a previous post i tried my hand at predicting the outcome of the women’s tournament and failed miserably, but that is to be expected in the unexpected world of sport. What isn’t to be expected is the general ignorance i displayed when tallying up the ranking points for their achievements. Good thing the people reading this blog are either very few or too kind to point out the blunder. Here is an updated table for the WTA as of 30/1/12:

A final mention to Centre Court Trading blog, the author of which has done a 2 part review of other sport trading blogs, and has kindly mentioned TT&T (catchy isn’t it?). Many thanks, and keep up the good work.

I woke up today thinking that the month was over as February only has 29 days. My record breaking month has meant I am getting slightly ahead of myself, and will be waiting till January has expired until I post a month review; but in short the weekend continued in the same fashion and I am now green 4 weeks in a row, a sequence only a week short from another record for me.

Enjoy your Monday.

Leave a comment