January review

Having decided to do a write up at the end of each month, I was looking forward to the prospect of posting record busting profits. So much so that I let myself get carried away somewhat with the staking for a couple of trades, and was punished by seeing them go against me. This is hugely annoying, and I went to bed last night frustrated and angry with myself.

The pre-blog me of 2011 would have thrown good money after bad, but I have taken the time to analyze what went wrong, and I have come to the rational realisation that even though I have just thrown away 2 weeks worth of profit, it is just a set back.

The worst thing I can do now is implode and go on a month long chasing spree. In a way I’m glad this has happened so early on. You need diversity and challenging times to really gauge how far along you’ve come, and I am happy to be at a stage where i can take a step back, calm down, and carry on as before. In fact, even as I write this I can feel myself taking a more professional view on the last 2 days – an inevitability that needs to be addressed, but not dwelled upon.

Below is a graph of my running p/l and the individual p/l of each trade, for January.

As is clear to see, and ignoring the last trade (and largest loss), I am making steady progress. There is a nice, upwards trend that is to be expected with balanced trading.

Also on the positive side, so far for 2012 I have come out of all 10 tennis tournaments that I have traded with a profit, which is a huge step forward for me when compared to 2011’s very erratic results.

Good luck everyone, and here’s to another decent month ahead.

 

2 thoughts on “January review

  1. well done on the results for January. The over confidence at the end is pretty normal. Hopefully that will help your discipline in future months πŸ™‚

Leave a comment